‘Daddy Power’

There’s an interesting image I’ve been pondering for about a week now. I used it in my lesson this past Sunday, and it has really stuck with me (and hopefully with my students as well!).

It’s the image of a father helping his kid dunk a basketball. You know what I’m talking about. Little kid is shooting basketball and wants to dunk. “Daddy, I dunk! Daddy, I dunk!” It’s a request, right? – “Daddy, help me dunk!” So the dad moves over to help the kid dunk. But what does the kid do? The kid still jumps as high as he absolutely can. The kid does everything possible on his end. And that amounts to about a 4″ vertical leap.

But then ‘Daddy Power’ kicks in. The father waits for the kid to jump, then grabs him under the arms and lifts him the rest of the way to the basket. Success! Kid power (very little) combined with Daddy power (much more) results in success and victory.

This is a great image of how we work with God. Philippians 2:13 says, “…for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to His good purpose.” Paul writes in Colossians 1:29, “To this end I labor, struggling with all his [Christ’s] energy, which so powerfully works in me.” Daddy power. It means that we don’t simply sit back and wait for God to do all the work. We labor, He shows up. His power is at work in us. And with His power, there is nothing that is impossible.

Peace.

star_mobile

Leave a Reply

