Topic Tuesday – Roles

It’s time for another Topic Tuesday, where I discipline myself to sit down and write a complete post based on a randomly generated writing prompt from one of the sites I use to get randomly generated writing prompts. Today’s topic – “Think about the various roles you play in your life. If you had to give up all but one, which one would you keep?”

I suppose the nature of this prompt is to make me decide what is most important to me in my life.

In the strictest sense, the role that is most linked to who I am is the role that we all must play while on this earth – the role of creation, human being, child of God. This is my greatest and most important role because it is the one role in my life that I can never be rid of. No matter how much I try, no matter how much I force myself to believe differently, no matter how much I rant and rail against eternity, I can never change the fact that God created me and my life is supposed to be lived in loving relationship with Him. I could resign my position as a pastor. I could be separated from Michelle by death. I could even give up the role of father to my as-yet-unborn children. But nothing, “not death or life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation,” can separate me from the love of God (Romans 8:38-39).

For that very reason, I will choose to interpret today’s prompt as “If you had to give up all the roles you play in life that you are capable of giving up, except one, which one would you keep?” And my answer to that question is ‘husband’.

Michelle and I have been married for two and a half years, and the honest truth is that I’m only now even beginning to realize the extent to which she brightens my life. As we grow together, we are learning how to communicate better, how to show one another grace more (she’s better at it than me, because I’ve given her many more opportunities to practice), and how to ‘do life’ together better. It is not hyperbole or exaggeration to say that she is my best friend, the one person I would choose to spend the rest of my life with if I could only choose one person. God has blessed me greatly by placing her in my life. My role as her husband is the most promising, most demanding, most challenging, most rewarding thing in my life, and I love it. I love her. And I love God all the more for placing her in my life. “Every good and perfect gift comes from above…” (James 1:17).

Peace.

Posted on September 28, 2010, in #tt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

