Thanksgiving Goals

I’m heading out of town this afternoon, and since I’ll be spending time with family I don’t get to see very often, no promises about blogging tomorrow or Friday. Enjoy your holiday!

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. You know, I think a lof of people pay lip service to Thanksgiving as a favorite holiday, but I’m not sure we (as a culture) really feel that way. I’m not just trying to pull a Jesus Juke on you here, since Thanksgiving isn’t really about Jesus anyways, but haven’t we kind of nerfed Thanksgiving? Haven’t we made it all about the food and the football and maybe the parade?

Well, here are my goals for my upcoming few days of rest and relaxation…

  • Really take stock of what I’m thankful for – Again, I’m not trying to Jesus Juke you here, but what other time of the year is the idea of thankfulness built in to the name? It just makes sense. Personally, I’ve got about a million and a half things that I am truly thankful for when I sit back and think about it. My guess is that you do, too. Be thankful!
  • Not eat to the point of exhaustion/sickness – Let’s be real: Joseph likes to eat. I hope you didn’t get the impression from what I said before that I think the food and the football and maybe the parade are bad things. They’re not. In fact, they’re all pretty incredible. (Except maybe the football – this year’s NFL Thanksgiving schedule is three pretty severe mismatches…) My family knows how to cook, and we like to eat. The problem, for me, is that sometimes I’m not too keen on stopping. So my goal this year is to eat and enjoy, but not make myself uncomfortable.
  • Finish the book I’m reading – I’m currently going through some of the great American novels/authors in history. Right now I’m reading J.D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye. So far it’s been pretty slow going, but that’s mostly because there’s been about a million things going on. I’m really looking forward to getting a few days to stop, relax, and dive into what is supposed to be a very good book.

What about you? What are you hoping to get out of a few days of rest?

Peace.

Posted on November 24, 2010, in Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I wish I could explain how happy it makes me to see Jesus Juke pop up here! Ha!

    I’m hoping to have some good conversations with my extended family. Things have been a wee bit tense lately (not sure why) and I’d like to remedy that.

    And I hope to finish my daughter’s Scott Pilgrim hat so I can work on a few other knitting projects I need to finish before Christmas.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Goals – The Verdict « The Pursuit of God

Leave a Reply

