Sweating the Small Stuff = Finishing the Job

I want you all to know that I have an absolutely amazing wife. She works a full time job in the local school system, a second full time job (putting up with me), plus is completing a graduate school program right now, and is still full of grace and love and laughter and everything else nice in life.

Since she started grad school, I’ve had to step up my game around the house a bit. Even so, I still manage to irk Michelle fairly regularly. Please don’t misunderstand me, it’s not because she’s easily irked. It’s because I don’t always sweat the small stuff; I don’t always finish the job. Let me explain…

I’m happy to help bring in the groceries, but I don’t always help put them away or throw away the grocery bags. I’ll take out the trash, but I don’t always remember to put a new bag in the can. I’ll open up the box and install the new thing, but sometimes not throw away the empty box. I’ll bring in the laundry, and even help with the folding, but I’m not so big on putting the clothes away. I’m the husband equivalent of this guy. And I know it’s really frustrating for her sometimes.

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, but I am pretty committed to getting better about this in the coming year. Grad school is only going to get tougher for her, and I want to be a good support for her instead of being a constant frustration.

So that’s my message for all of you, too. Especially for the men, because I think we tend to do this more than women do. Finish the job. Sweat the small stuff. It really makes a difference. Because the reality is that me not always sweating the small stuff means that Michelle has to sweat a bunch of stuff that she shouldn’t have to.

What’s an area of your life where you can do better about this kind of stuff? I’d love to hear that I’m not the only one who struggles with this…

Peace.

Posted on January 4, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m the same way.

    I think I get comfortable with how much my wife does and start to take it for granted.

    She is VERY detail oriented, and I just skate through life.

    But we have some life changes coming this year too, and I need to step it up in support of her.

    I’ll make it my non-New-Year’s resolution, starting today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

