The State of the Union

I mostly try to avoid writing about politics as much as possible here on PoG. For starters, it’s usually incredibly divisive, and I’m not about that. For continuers, I’m not very knowledgable when it comes to affairs of state, economics, military matters, etc. And for finishers, I just don’t think it’s as important as a lot of people make it out to be. But on the heels of something pretty important, like the State of the Union Address, I’ll occasionally share my thoughts. So, here is a little bit of a brain-dump after last night’s big speech.

  • While I understand the spirit of Republicans and Democrats breaking with tradition and sitting together during the speech, it felt really contrived. In fact, some people were referring to last night’s speech as sort of a “Congressional Prom.” There were literally reports of Representatives and Senators walking from office to office, asking people if they had someone from the opposite side of the aisle to sit with.
  • Admittedly, I didn’t watch the whole speech. Michelle and I decided to do a yoga workout shortly after they announced the President’s entrance. We flipped it back on somewhere around 9:45. The parts that I did watch sounded a lot like the same old talk, but with a little less divisive language.
  • I liked what President Obama said about being fiscally responsible, freezing all non-essential Washington spending, and getting serious about our budget deficit. Unfortunately (and I didn’t watch the whole thing, so please correct me if I’m wrong on this) he didn’t acknowledge the role that his own policies have played in increasing that deficit. Plus, every Congressman and Senator thinks that every pet project they have their hand in is “essential,” so I don’t really see us moving in a radically different direction after this speech.
  • Congressmen and -women from opposite sides of the aisle may have sat together last night, but if this morning’s headlines are any indication, that spirit hasn’t carried over into the media. Call me cynical, but I’m not really holding out much hope that Democrats and Republicans will maintain this spirit of togetherness, either. In case you forgot, there’s a presidential election in less than 2 years, which means the campaigns will start within the month.

Most of all, I just want to reiterate a sentiment that I’ve shared before on this blog. Politics are an important thing, but they are not the most important thing. The most important decision you can make with your life is not whether you vote Republican or Democrat, conservative or liberal. The most important decision you will ever make in your lifetime is whether or not you choose to receive salvation through faith in Jesus Christ. There’s no other decision you can make that will have such lasting, eternal consequences. And there’s no more important thing you can do with your life than spread the Gospel, the good news of that salvation through faith. Since I have just written about politics, and I know politics can be divisive, please be nice to one another in the comments. Peace.

Posted on January 26, 2011, in Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I get nervous when Christians get too political. For example, when people complain about the welfare state, I wonder what those complainers are doing in the name of Jesus to feed them, clothe them, educate them, care for them, put them to work, love them. The whole point of the church as the body of Christ is that we don’t need the government… we are to work with the government and obey the law of the land, but the power of Christ is more effective than the government. We don’t act like that when Christians are preoccupied with the ballot box.

    Like

  2. Russ Ray, I disagree. Politics are part of the world we live in, and electing leaders who have Christian values to represent us is one way to influence a larger # of people. For example, by myself I can’t influence the U.S. war policy, but an elected Christian leader could turn the other cheek (Matthew 5:39) and be a peacemaker (Matthew 5:9) with our enemies.

    Like

    • True, and I didn’t say that we were to ignore our obligation to the government as citizens. We absolutely should prayerfully consider who we are voting for and the decisions those people will make.

      The problem for me lies when we look to the government as the only solution for the problems we face socially, economically, etc. The church can and should be in the lead in some of these areas.

      Like

  3. “The most important decision you will ever make in your lifetime is whether or not you choose to receive salvation through faith in Jesus Christ.” – AMEN!

    Like

  4. I appreciate your comments, each of you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, and for keeping it civil!

    Like

Leave a Reply

