Super Thoughts

I must have gotten my wires crossed about yesterday. My guest post on morethandodgeball.com is actually live now. If you check out that link and you don’t see my post, “The Thing About Spurs,” just scroll down a little. Josh is posting 3-4 each day while he’s in Kenya. Onward…

Sunday night was the Superbowl, and it was a great show. I heard on the radio that it scored something like a 49 in terms of Nielson ratings. I don’t know exactly what that means, but I do know that super-popular shows like American Idol and the Bachelor are consistently in the low 20s. Here are my thoughts on my Superbowl XLV (45… I have to keep remind myself to say ’45’ when I see these letters) experience.

Random: Random, but also pretty cool, to see the Declaration of Independence read aloud during the run up to the most watched sporting event of the year. It was the sort of thing I expected to happen this coming fall around the 10th anniversary of 9/11. The ideas in that document are definitely ideas we should remind ourselves of more often…

National Anthem – The Good: I took the ‘over’ on Christina Aguilera’s last note on Bryan Allain’s Superbowl prop bets post (over 6 seconds). The Bad: Christina Aguilera unfortunately flubbed the lyrics a little, and, also unfortunately, some of the notes a little, too. The Ugly: Christina Aguilera’s face when she sings. She does not make attractive faces when she sings…

Commercials: Pretty good. Much better than the last few years.

Favorite: Probably this one…

It’s not the funniest commercial I’ve ever seen, but for whatever reason it just works. Awesome!

Least Favorite: This one, by a clear margin…

Seriously? Claymation? Unless you’re Tim Burton or it’s the 1960’s, not a great idea. Eminem endorsing sweet tea in a can? You have to figure that hurts his street cred a little. A commercial (complete with profanity) about how Eminem doesn’t do commercials? I’m sure they thought it was clever. Instead it was just kind of lame. And then later in the evening he had another Superbowl commercial for Chrysler. After the Lipton commercial. Which was about how he doesn’t do commercials. Even lamer.

The Game: Awesome! One of the best since I started watching Superbowls in 1991 (Giants over the Bills). I really didn’t feel strongly about either team. I’ve like the Packers since the early 90s teams with Brett Favre, Reggie White, Antonio Freeman, etc. I’ve always like the Steelers organization. They just do stuff the right way (3 coaches in the last 4 decades, are you kidding me?!). So what I really wanted to see more than anything was a good, close, exciting game. And that’s exactly what they delivered. Kudos to the teams.

What was your favorite part about this year’s Superbowl? Most/least favorite commercial?

Peace.

Posted on February 8, 2011, in Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

