3 Reasons Today is Awesome

You woke up this morning, and instantly you knew. Your mouth was dry. Your palms were sweaty. You dreaded leaving the house. You knew that all day you would have to face person after person with a strong opinion about the matter. Some would be annoying about it. Others would be angry. Still others would be morose and cynical. Regardless, you knew that today would be one of the most divisive days in your life for a long, long time.

Am I talking about election day? Nope.

I’m talking about Valentine’s Day.

Honestly, if we made Hitler’s birthday a national holiday I’m not sure there would be as much of an outcry against it as there is against Valentine’s Day in some quarters*. So if you’re one of the people who abhor Valentine’s Day, let me give you three reasons why, in spite of your hatred of this holiday, today is an awesome day.

1) For starters, today I am finally ready to announce my new blog, www.joerob.com. It’s still going to be a work-in-progress for awhile, since I’m not a code-monkey**. But I hope that you’ll click on over and check it out. In addition to the same quality content*** you’ve come to expect from the Pursuit of God, it features an upgraded comment experience and a neat Bible Verse of the Day widget****. Give me some feedback while you’re there. I’ll be piping in all my posts from this blog for the next two weeks (for some reason comments aren’t transferring very well… sorry about that), and then I’ll make the transition final by putting up a static “We’ve moved!” page here until this domain registration runs out. Maybe you feel cheated, like this is not really something awesome to get excited about today? Maybe you should try being a little more Christian and live out Romans 12:15, huh? What do you think about that?!

2) For continuers, I have four of the most magical words in the English language for you today: Pitchers and Catchers report. That’s right, friends, today is the (sort of) official start of the 2011 Major League Baseball pre-season. I don’t care who you are, or how much better you think football or basketball is than baseball, there is still something absolutely magical about the start of baseball season. You’ll be hearing more from me throughout spring and summer about baseball. But that’s not #3 on the list of reasons today is awesome…

3) For finishers, it’s Valentine’s Day. Now listen, I know there’s a bunch of other weird crap that’s grown up around Valentine’s Day in America’s consumer-driven madhouse society. But the reality is that it’s a day that’s meant to honor and celebrate love. And you know what? 1 John 4:8 says that God is love, so if you hate Valentine’s Day then you hate God, and that’s not cool. So cheer up and find somebody to love today. Maybe it’s not someone you’re dating or married to. That’s cool. Find someone you can love the way Jesus loves the Church, or the way Mother Theresa loved the people of Calcutta. Find another friend who’s lonely and watch a sappy/crappy romantic comedy together. I don’t care. Just quit hatin’ on love, man, because love is just about the best thing going in this world.

Peace and love.

*For the record, those quarters include single people, and husbands/boyfriends who forget Valentine’s Day and/or have demanding women in their lives.

**Unless I’m using the term completely wrong, it means someone who’s good with computer code*****.

***“Quality content = silly content”

****This is not serious. I actually do have the verse of the day widget on joerob.com, but I only have awesomely cool verses programmed into it right now.

*****If you are a code-monkey, and I am using the term correctly, I could use some help. If you’re willing, could you let me know that you’re a code-monkey so I can pick your brain a little bit?

4 comments

Leave a Reply

