Weekend Update – Last Several Weeks Edition

Well, it’s officially been more than a month since I’ve posted anything. Sorry about that. Here’s what you’ve missed…

Easter – You probably didn’t miss Easter. In fact, I’d wager that most of you who read this blog are committed church attenders and probably looked forward to Easter. And even if you’re not a committed church attender, statistics bear out the fact that a large percentage of people who don’t normally go to church will do so on Easter. So either way, I hope it was a great experience for you, and I hope you have been growing closer to God since.

Since Easter, it’s been a lot of grindstone type stuff. I haven’t goofed off as much as I’d like to, though to be fair I’d probably like to goof off more than is good for anyone. I’m like that sometimes. The new ministry/church has been going well. We’re plugging away at this whole Family Ministry concept, refining it, implementing it, rethinking it, doing it, redoing it… I really like the direction we’re headed, and I think it’s going to bear lots of huge fruit moving forward. So all in all things have been normal-to-quite-normal.

Then last week happened. Did you know that dogs can get auto-immune diseases that attack their brain stems? Because we sure didn’t until last Thursday. Our little dog Penny ended up in the pet hospital last Tuesday because she wasn’t eating, was throwing up whatever she did eat, and was generally lethargic and not herself. As symptoms worsened and an exploratory surgery revealed no blockages in her GI system, the diagnosis came down to something Michelle and I had never heard of – Granulomatous Meningoencephalitis (GME).

The good news is that Penny is responding well to treatment. The bad news is that GME is an early death sentence anyways; even with treatment we’re looking at anywhere from a couple of months to a couple of years. I’ll be writing more about this whole ordeal in the coming weeks, I’m sure…

So last week was just about the craziest mix of weird highs and lows that I can remember. Good thing tomorrow will be largely relational time as we have an office-full (literally!) of IKEA stuff to put together.

How has your weekend/week/month been?

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Other Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

